Metal Evolution – Eps 11 Prog Metal Teaser + song list

Posted in: Metal Evolution, Track Listing | 1 Comment | Posted on by Jade

D’oh! Sorry it took a while to finish this off. I guess I just didn’t want it to end. :)
Anyhow, here’s the Prog Metal blurb from way back in the ‘Headbangers Journey’ Family Tree insert:

It was Rush who combined power chords and art rock of YES and ELP to create what we know as Progressive Metal. Sure King Crimson, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple and to some degree, The Who paved the way. However it was Rush that would crystallize the idea, inspiring bands like Iron Maiden, Queensryche and Fates Warning to stretch out, obscure through odd time signatures and get literary and shamelessly fanciful with lyrics. More bands raised the flag through the 80′s; Voivod being progressive with Thrash, Savatage with a Queen-like sense of drama, but the genre came of age through the work of Dream Theater, who are heralded as the modern day fathers of complicated metal. Indeed, Progressive Metal is a huge industry now, with Meshuggah displaying persuccive acrobatics, Symphony X more of a guitar showcase throug the work of Michael Romeo, and bands like Evergrey, Nocturnal Rites and Tad Morose combining stomp and subtlety like Savatage before.

Track Listing in Order of Appearance

  1. Iron Maiden : Trooper
  2. Mastodon : The Czar
  3. Genesis : Dancing With The Moonlit Knight
  4. Yes : Roundabout
  5. King Crimson : 21st Century Schizoid Man
  6. Rush : 2112
  7. Rush : The Necromancer
  8. Rush : The Spirit Of Radio
  9. Queensryche : The Warning
  10. Queensryche : Suite Sister Mary
  11. Queensryche : Silent Lucidity
  12. Dream Theater : Lie
  13. Dream Theater : Metropolis Pt. 1: The Miracle & The Sleeper
  14. Meshuggah : Bleed
  15. The Dillinger Escape Plan : Panasonic Youth
  16. Mastodon : March Of The Fire Ants
  17. Mastodon : Sea Beast
  18. Rush : BU2B

Related Links:

Watch Full Episodes

In USA, go to:

In Canada, go to:

  • Mark Orth

    Would’ve been nice if you worked some Fates into the show and the tracklist. Just sayin’.